"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > Discuss Cooking Community Forums > Forum Admin: Tech Support & Announcements
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-10-2014, 01:27 PM   #11
Senior Cook
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: California
Posts: 181
Thanks, Dawgluver. Let me know if you figure it out. I just think the app does not adapt well to iPads. Who knows? Technology is beyond me!!?
__________________

__________________
ShellyCooks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2014, 03:36 PM   #12
Chef Extraordinaire
 
Dawgluver's Avatar
Site Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 23,475
Hmm. For me, it only happens in the Recipes forum, in the others I was able to create a new thread, no problem. Still playing with it.
__________________

__________________
She who dies with the most toys, wins.
Dawgluver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2014, 05:11 PM   #13
Chef Extraordinaire
 
GotGarlic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Southeastern Virginia
Posts: 16,131
AFAIK, the Recipes forum is the only one that asks for that information. On the website, there's a drop down menu for selecting it, but not in the Android app. Maybe a developer could look at it and make sure that feature was ported to the mobile apps.
__________________
The trouble with eating Italian food is that five or six days later you're hungry again. ~ George Miller
GotGarlic is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2014, 05:20 PM   #14
Chef Extraordinaire
 
Dawgluver's Avatar
Site Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 23,475
Starting a new thread ......

I recently posted a recipe for taco meat in Ethnic Foods. I'm trying to recall how I did it. It was an "aha" moment, as I think I used the app.

If you have the three dots in the upper right corner, it will take you to the website without having to log out of the app. That may be what I did.
__________________
She who dies with the most toys, wins.
Dawgluver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2014, 01:24 AM   #15
Executive Chef
 
Somebunny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Blaine, Washington
Posts: 2,647
I reported this issue months ago, I cannot post recipes from my iPhone either. :(



Sent from my iPhone using Discuss Cooking
__________________
If you don't like the food, have more wine!
Somebunny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2014, 09:53 AM   #16
Executive Chef
 
Roll_Bones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Southeast US
Posts: 2,737
The DC app is limited unlike the computer version.
I use the app for reading, little more.
No "New Topics", but I do post occasionally using my phone.
__________________
Roll_Bones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2014, 10:02 AM   #17
Certified Pretend Chef
 
Andy M.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 40,929
As an aside to this topic, what's the point of listing the type of smartphone you're using to post?



_______________________________

Sent from my MacBook Pro Using Discuss Cooking v1.0
__________________
"If you want to make an apple pie from scratch, you must first create the universe." -Carl Sagan
Andy M. is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2014, 10:22 AM   #18
Chef Extraordinaire
 
GotGarlic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Southeastern Virginia
Posts: 16,131
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andy M. View Post
As an aside to this topic, what's the point of listing the type of smartphone you're using to post?



_______________________________

Sent from my MacBook Pro Using Discuss Cooking v1.0
It's added by default when you install the app. Or are you asking the mods?

I find it really annoying to see it on my own posts. I've had two new phones in the last two weeks, so I've had to change it twice.
__________________
The trouble with eating Italian food is that five or six days later you're hungry again. ~ George Miller
GotGarlic is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2014, 10:28 AM   #19
Certified Pretend Chef
 
Andy M.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 40,929
Quote:
Originally Posted by GotGarlic View Post
It's added by default when you install the app. Or are you asking the mods?

I find it really annoying to see it on my own posts. I've had two new phones in the last two weeks, so I've had to change it twice.
You cannot not turn it off for your own phone?
__________________
"If you want to make an apple pie from scratch, you must first create the universe." -Carl Sagan
Andy M. is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2014, 10:32 AM   #20
Chef Extraordinaire
 
GotGarlic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Southeastern Virginia
Posts: 16,131
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andy M. View Post
You cannot not turn it off for your own phone?
Yes, you can. But it's turned on by default, so I would see it and then figure out, again, how to turn it off.
__________________

__________________
The trouble with eating Italian food is that five or six days later you're hungry again. ~ George Miller
GotGarlic is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Discuss Cooking on Facebook

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities


Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.