"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > Recipes & Ingredients > Fruit & Nuts

Old 12-01-2014, 03:12 PM   #1
Certified Pretend Chef

Avocado Question

I'm new to avocados so forgive the ignorance.

I just cut open an avo for lunch. It's blotchy with black scattered through parts of the interior. Is that OK to serve or should I dump it?

Old 12-01-2014, 03:15 PM   #2
Executive Chef

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andy M. View Post
I'm new to avocados so forgive the ignorance.

I just cut open an avo for lunch. It's blotchy with black scattered through parts of the interior. Is that OK to serve or should I dump it?
We toss them. I believe it is spoiled. I see that a lot with over ripe Haas.

Old 12-01-2014, 03:17 PM   #3
Master Chef

Sometimes that happens Andy. I wish you had a picture but I think I know what you're talking about. If it's just speckled blackI would use it myself, it certainly won't hurt you. If it seems over ripe, toss it.

Kayelle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2014, 03:26 PM   #4
Certified Pretend Chef

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kayelle View Post
Sometimes that happens Andy. I wish you had a picture but I think I know what you're talking about. If it's just speckled blackI would use it myself, it certainly won't hurt you. If it seems over ripe, toss it.

It wasn't all that soft, Kayelle. the discoloration was scattered through the interior.

I guess I'll give it a try.

Check to see if I'm online later today.
Old 12-01-2014, 03:29 PM   #5
Chef Extraordinaire

Site Moderator

i usually cut out any black spots. It's usually caused by bruising from being squeezed too hard. If it contains too much, I toss it.

If you can't see the bright side of life, polish the dull side.
Zhizara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2014, 03:34 PM   #6
Master Chef

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andy M. View Post
It wasn't all that soft, Kayelle. the discoloration was scattered through the interior.