Avocado Question

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Andy M.

Certified Pretend Chef
I'm new to avocados so forgive the ignorance.

I just cut open an avo for lunch. It's blotchy with black scattered through parts of the interior. Is that OK to serve or should I dump it?

I'm new to avocados so forgive the ignorance.

I just cut open an avo for lunch. It's blotchy with black scattered through parts of the interior. Is that OK to serve or should I dump it?

We toss them. I believe it is spoiled. I see that a lot with over ripe Haas.

Sometimes that happens Andy. I wish you had a picture but I think I know what you're talking about. If it's just speckled blackI would use it myself, it certainly won't hurt you. If it seems over ripe, toss it.

Last edited:
Sometimes that happens Andy. I wish you had a picture but I think I know what you're talking about. If it's just speckled blackI would use it myself, it certainly won't hurt you. If it seems over ripe, toss it.

It wasn't all that soft, Kayelle. the discoloration was scattered through the interior.

I guess I'll give it a try.

Check to see if I'm online later today. ;)

i usually cut out any black spots. It's usually caused by bruising from being squeezed too hard. If it contains too much, I toss it.

Last edited:
It wasn't all that soft, Kayelle. the discoloration was scattered through the interior.

I guess I'll give it a try.

Check to see if I'm online later today. ;)

If it's just speckled throughout, it will be fine Andy. Just be glad you didn't get one like this..I was so bummed when I opened it. :(

img_1400442_0_a88c51f1425234e3b136b58ed7df2f58.jpg

There are pretty much four things that can happen to avocados

Dark and mushy throughout is just overipe, rotten.

Dark strands through the flesh means fruit from a young tree. Pick them out.