"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > Recipes & Ingredients > Fruit & Nuts

Old 09-20-2006, 12:23 AM   #1
Head Chef

Blanching almonds

I'm studying an Almond butter cake recipe that I'd like to try out. It calls for blanched almonds to be ground up finely. I am planning to use my coffee grinder for this.

My questions are:

Why blanch the almonds first? Won't dry toasting work?
How to blanch almonds? Just dip in boiling water?
After blanching, should I let them dry out first before grinding up?

Thanks!

Old 09-20-2006, 01:20 AM   #2
Cook

Are they skinned? Boil some water, dunk them in for 10 seconds, drain them and pop them straight into cold water. Slide the skins off if you need to. They'll have a milder flavor after blanching. I'd put almonds in my coffee grinder in preference to my spice grinder because of the oils, and do let them totally dry. Hope it all comes out nice.

Got a sneak preview at the weekend of some new skin on roasted marcona's from our supplier. Very nice indeed.

Old 09-20-2006, 02:27 AM   #3
Head Chef

Thanks ChefScotty! I forgot to mention that the almonds I'll get are skinned and probably pre-roasted already. Do I still need to blanche them?
Old 09-20-2006, 03:52 AM   #4
Cook

No real need to blanch them if they're already skinned. Especially not in baking. Should you blanch them, dry them thouroughly (with some paper towels and a very low temp oven) before grinding.
If they're pre-roasted they should have a slightly golden colour. If just peeled they're a white-creme coulour. Roasting them will bring out the flavour a bit more, but it's not necesary. Not like for example peanuts which don't realy taste all that well if they're not roasted.
Old 09-20-2006, 03:56 AM   #5
Assistant Cook

Location: Currently I am living in Palestine, but I am originally from New York.