Pine nut question

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

angel101

Assistant Cook
I found a pine nut crusted salmon recipe, on the recipe form.but I have never tried pine nuts before.do they taste more piney or nuttie?I have salmon steaks out for dinner tonite and need a good recipe for a coating. angel

I don't think they taste "piney" at all.

I think they're really a seed, not a nut, but the closest I can think of a description of taste is a mild, slightly sweey nut.

Pine nuts are delicious. They do not taste like pine at add. I have been eating them as a snack lately. I toast up a bunch and sprinkle a little salt on them and just eat them as is.

25.gif
Pine nuts are neither pine-EE or nut-EE. They are more like if tiny grapes joined a gang..... thats what they taste like. ;)

More nutty than piney, particularly when toasted a little. Yum!

For the love of heaven, thought, TAKE THEM OUT OF THE SHELLS FIRST. I cannot overemphasize this tooth-breaking detail. I've had a bad experience tasting a dish by a pine-nut neophyte who did not know this. Ow.

:eek:

I always thought they tasted too piney. I haven't had them in years. I guess I will have to try them again!

:) Barbara

As the resident Forester on the board, I think I have a little experience on this subject. Pine nuts are an edible seed of the Pinus species of conifer trees. Pine nuts grow inside of pine cones. They are very difiicult to harvest because removal from the pine cone usually takes heating. All of the pine trees have edible seeds. Pine nuts are also called Pignoli. Click on the link below for a picture of a singleleaf pinyon.

http://plants.usda.gov/cgi_bin/topics.cgi?earl=plant_profile.cgi&symbol=PIMO&photoID=pimo_2h.jpg

SierraCook said: