Aluminum Cookware

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Chief Longwind Of The North

Certified/Certifiable
I have been hearing it for 30 years. Don't cook acidic or alkali foods in aluminum as the corrosive effects of such foods will cause the aluminum to be absorbed into the food. One day, while camping, I was going to make scrambled eggs in the aluminum camp cookware I had, you know, the stuff that boy scouts use. Well, I know that aluminum sticks like crazy to scrambled eggs, so I tried a little experiment. I put some oil into the pan and placed in over the fire and let the oil season the pan, just like with cast iron. I did this a couple of times and found that my aluminum cookware became just as stick free, and impervious to acidic and alkali foods, just like my CI pans. And just like with CI, the more seasoning that goes onto the cooking surface, the more durable it becomes. So, if you have problems lifting CI pans, and don't want to use teflon, or other non-stick pans, you can simply purchase restaurant quality aluminum pans and season them, just as you would cast iron.

A tip from me to you.

Seeeeeya; Goodweed of the North

Im sure that everything sticks like crazy because aluminum can't hold heat like cast iron. The sudden drop in temperature causes the food to stick.

Aluminum is also reactive with certain foods. Ive found that storing acidic foods with aluminum foil causes it to literally melt away after a few days. Ive experienced this with BBQ ribs and pot roast (both with acidic, tomato based sauces.)

Consider this as well.....

From healthcastle.com: