Boil, Then To A Simmer

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

GarrettB

Assistant Cook
I'm just learning how to cook, and I see a LOT of recipes that say bring the heat to a boil, and then immediately reduce to a simmer. Why?

I can understand the "force" of a boil being too much for certain fragile foods. But this seems to be the case in more durable vittles as well. So how come nearly every recipe I've come across demands I jump up to a boil then leap down to a simmer. Why not just heat up to a simmer? And why simmer at all?

You bring it to a boil so it gets up to temp quickly. Then you reduce it to a simmer. The temperature of a simmer is less than boiling. This allows you to cook the ingredients and extract flavors, etc. Boiling will actually toughen proteins and cause the liquids to absorb excess amounts of fats.

Andy pretty much nailed it. I mean in theory, you could just bring up to a simmer but either a.) you're going to wait forever or b.) you're going to have to stand over it and constantly watch it. But in most recipes, unless a full boil is needed to achieve something chemically in the dish, you don't even have to bring it to a full boil. Once it starts just shows signs of boiling, you can manipulate the temperature from there.

When something boils, there are visual and audible signs that tell you when it's ready, even if you're busy doing other things in the kitchen, so it's almost like a timer of sorts. Most liquids (with the exception of dairy and liquids that have been thickened with a liaison) don't display those effects at just a simmer, which forces you to keep checking on it every so often, rather then just looking in the general direction and knowing when to turn it down.