Cooking w/olive oil

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

liquidsnake25

Assistant Cook
I'm new to cooking, and recently, I've seen several recipes that use extra-virgin olive oil(for example), and usually right after that is the phrase 'a turn of the pan' or '2 turns of the pan'. can anyone explain what that means?

Welcome to the site!

Take the bottle and pour the olive oil around the perimeter of the pan. If it says 2 turns around the pan then do it twice. Or you could estimate about 1 tablespoon per "turn around the pan". Sounds like the recipes you are looking at are from Rachel Ray. She likes to use terms like that.

Hi, and welcome to the site!

Just a note here about extra virgin olive oil; there's absolutely no need to use the EV for cooking; it's more expensive, and regular olive oil will do just fine. Save your good EVOO for dressing salads and as a 'drizzle' on finished foods! RR uses EVOO 'cause it's paid for by FoodTV!:rolleyes:

marmalady said:
Hi, and welcome to the site!

Just a note here about extra virgin olive oil; there's absolutely no need to use the EV for cooking; it's more expensive, and regular olive oil will do just fine. Save your good EVOO for dressing salads and as a 'drizzle' on finished foods! RR uses EVOO 'cause it's paid for by FoodTV!:rolleyes:

Ditto...

Plus "EVOO" has a lower smoke point than regular olive oil does, so you can't get it as hot as OO without it beginning to burn.

Yes! "Smoke point" -- the temp at which the oil starts to smoke and burn.

EVOO is a fairly low smoke point, as is butter. You can raise these by adding canola. Then you get the flavors of the EVOO or butter and the higher temps of the canola.

There should be a whole forum section on oils and cooking!