Custard Technique for Gellatos and Creme Brulle

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

oldAGE

Assistant Cook
Hello all. New here.

I am a seasoned and accomplished cook and can make just about anything. I have been likened to McGuyver by my family as I can open the fridge and enter the pantry -- from its contents I can produce a great deal of quality.

My problem has always been that when it comes down to making custards, I believe that I am doing everything right -- the outcome always seems fine -- but I feel that I am always missing something. Is the cooked custard actually thick enough? Is my technique adequate? Am I wasting time? Am I beating the yokes too little, too much? As I have no formal education in this art and I have never been shown (I also can't make a good pie crust anymore!), I look to the accomplished folks to help.

Let it be known that I have turned out fine brulee and tasty gelato but have I reached the pinnacle of these fine bases? So, I look to everyone here to give me their tips, show me pictures of "coating the back of a wooden spoon," how thick is thick? Let me see what you've got. I'll show you mine :chef: if you show me yours:angel: .

Thanks.
Welcome aboard, AGE.

I recommend you show us one of your recipes and let us look it over and offer suggestions. We're pretty good at that! There are a number of accomplished professional chefs and home cooks that will help.

I can do that. The following is for a traditional gellato:

2 cups whole milk
1/4 teaspoon vanilla or 2 vanilla beans whole
3 - 4 large egg yolks
3/4 cup sugar
1 cup heavy cream

Scald milk in saucepan with vanilla -- of course do not boil, yadda yadda yadda.
Beat egg yolks until creamy so that whisk pulls ribbons when removed.