"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > General Cooking Information > Cooking Resources > Terms & Techniques

Old 07-13-2007, 12:31 AM   #1
Cook

How to make burritos for the freezer?

I am becoming more interested in monthly cooking using my freezer for make-ahead meals. My kids love the frozen burritos from the store, and I figured I could probably make them cheaper. Does anyone know the correct technique for making them for the freezer? I would just make the burrito and put them out on a tray, freeze, and then bag after frozen solid. Is this sufficient or is there something else required? Anyone have experience with this? Thanks in advance....newbie here!

Old 07-13-2007, 07:11 AM   #2
Head Chef

Hmm...I would think that you could wrap them each in foil, then in a freezer bag and pop them all in the freezer. I wouldn't think you need to pre-freeze them..(??)

Old 07-13-2007, 09:34 AM   #3
Senior Cook

I too think Pre-freezing would be un-necessary unless you are using a vacumn-sealer.. That is one thing you could consider for freshness. That is, using a sealer to lock in the freshness. Then, your children could Microwave them right out of the freezer..
Old 07-13-2007, 10:39 AM   #4
Sous Chef

Quote:
Originally Posted by sunnysmile
I would just make the burrito and put them out on a tray, freeze, and then bag after frozen solid.
Your burritos may end up tasting like the freezer. I would wrap them first then freeze them.
Old 07-13-2007, 10:41 AM   #5
Executive Chef

Im actually doing burittos today I make them and freeze them all the time as said before I make them and wrap in then put them in 1 gallon ziploc bags and freeze them I usually make about 80 at a time.HB loves them when you want one just take out of freezer take of foil wrap in a damp paper towel and microwave.If I plan on making smothered burittos I take them out in morning and let them thaw in refrigerator.