ISO presentation tips & techniques

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

spork

Head Chef
It's said that we eat with all of our senses. As a home cook, I confess that I don't pay enough attention to preparing meals that are visually appetizing. Mostly because I don't know how. A sprig of inedible parsley on the side just seems kinda lame.

Are there some basic rules? Techniques? Do you have any helpful, maybe secret, tips? To: garnish, plating, serving, presentation and other elements of creating a feast for our eyes?

Try to use edible garnishes, sometimes using an ingredient as the garnish. If something is flavored with lemon, a lemon slice, chives, some whole chives criss-crossed, etc. It helps the diner clue into flavors they are about to experience. Giving things some height helps, too.
A useful tool is Google, put in a dish, like chicken cordon bleu, then click on images. You can get LOTS of ideas by doing that.
Color helps, too. Having only 2 colors on the plate is kind of bland, but also don't want to overdo it, either. Sometimes, simple is best.

At a basic level, just try to arrange the food on serving pieces attractively.

If serving slices of turkey, arrange them evenly spaced in a 'shingled' pattern. Pureed veggies or mashed potatoes can be smoothed on top and marked with a decorative pattern.