Meisenplace? mesonpas? Huh?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

jharris

Sous Chef
Hello all,

I'm new to this forum but already so glad I found you.

My " nephew-in-law" recently graduated from culinary school and during one conversation we had he mentioned a meisenplace (sp?) board.

From his general description I understand that this is an item used by chefs that somewhat resembles a cutting board with additional features that aid in organizing pre-measured spices and ingredients prior to beginning the cooking process.

I'm a woodworker by trade and would like to make him one of these as a belated graduation gift.

It's important to me that this gift has all the features needed by a chef.

I have tried the internet with no success at all. This is probably due to not knowing the actual spelling.

I have a beautiful piece of 4/4 teak just crying out to be transformed into something.

Any help you can give me in the way of internet links, photos and suggestions regarding the most useful features I might incorporate into this project would be greatly appreciated.

Heeeelp!

Mis en Place is not a thing. You cant make one.

It means to put things in their proper place and refers to the practice of chefs and many home cooks of prepping their kitchens and assembling everything they'll need adhead of service. Putting prepped ingredients in individual containers, assembling needed utensils, arranging cutting boards, towels, etc. making sure everything is in its proper place and order, ready to go before you start cooking.

I am not familiar with the board you are describing.

Whatever is used in your mis en place needs to be scrubbed after service so generally you use stainless steel bowls, pans and sheets.

Last edited: