Searing Meat

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

mattdaddym

Assistant Cook
Hi,

I'm an amateur cook at best. I've read several sites the describe the best technique for searing meat, but I have yet to perfect it :(

I'm using a stainless steel pan with an aluminum bottom I bought at Target. My oven isn't fancy either. It is a glass-top / flat type. I was using Olive Oil but there was too much smoke. I learned about that the hard way :) I just bought some Safflower oil.

So, I'm still getting a lot of smoke. I must have the pan too hot, but I thought I read you couldn't be "too hot". That's the first thing I'd like to hear an opinion on. I think my next logical step is to clean the pan, put some oil in, and then turn the heat up a notch at a time until it smokes. Then I know the maximum heat for my set up. Does that make sense?

Also, do you prefer to put oil in the pan or to oil the meat and drop in a dry pan?

Any help is appreciated. Thanks!

Hi,

I'm an amateur cook at best. I've read several sites the describe the best technique for searing meat, but I have yet to perfect it :(

I'm using a stainless steel pan with an aluminum bottom I bought at Target. My oven isn't fancy either. It is a glass-top / flat type. I was using Olive Oil but there was too much smoke. I learned about that the hard way :) I just bought some Safflower oil.

So, I'm still getting a lot of smoke. I must have the pan too hot, but I thought I read you couldn't be "too hot". That's the first thing I'd like to hear an opinion on. I think my next logical step is to clean the pan, put some oil in, and then turn the heat up a notch at a time until it smokes. Then I know the maximum heat for my set up. Does that make sense?

Also, do you prefer to put oil in the pan or to oil the meat and drop in a dry pan?

Any help is appreciated. Thanks!