"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > General Cooking Information > Cooking Resources > Terms & Techniques

Old 10-21-2011, 06:12 PM   #1
Assistant Cook

Storing vanilla beans

I just ordered a half pound bag of vanilla beans. I've read to wrap them in saran wrap or wax paper (loosely or tightly wrapped?) and place them in an air tight container to make sure they stay fresh. Is this correct? Any extra advice would be appreciated, i'm new to the vanilla world :) Oh also, I've heard you can reuse them over and over, once they're used in a liquid, how do you store them so that you're able to keep using them?

Old 10-21-2011, 06:15 PM   #2
Chef Extraordinaire

The seeds are what I've seen people using. I put a whole bean in with sugar to make vanilla sugar...2 beans to a quart of vodka to make vanilla-infused vodka. I've added more vodka to the bottle and it doesn't seem to matter. I keep them in a ziplock bag if I'm not using them. Which reminds me, I have three floating around here that I got from The Spice House in September...

Old 10-21-2011, 06:48 PM   #3
Chef Extraordinaire

Site Moderator

Quote:
Originally Posted by Christina1979
I just ordered a half pound bag of vanilla beans. I've read to wrap them in saran wrap or wax paper (loosely or tightly wrapped?) and place them in an air tight container to make sure they stay fresh. Is this correct? Any extra advice would be appreciated, i'm new to the vanilla world :) Oh also, I've heard you can reuse them over and over, once they're used in a liquid, how do you store them so that you're able to keep using them?
Welcome to DC!

Where did you find a half pound of vanilla beans to order? Sounds wonderful!

Penzey's has their VBs stored in alcohol, maybe rum or vodka in a small bottle. I used some of their Madagascar, and was surprised to find a whole VB in the bottle!
Old 10-21-2011, 06:53 PM   #4
Assistant Cook