"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > General Cooking Information > Cooking Resources > Terms & Techniques

Old 02-18-2012, 03:00 PM   #1
Assistant Cook

What's the best method to cook a steak indoors?

Hello All,
I have always had a hard time figuring out the best way to cook a steak indoors. I am a college student living in an apartment complex with no access to a grill. I love steak but have shied away from buying/cooking one in a while because I have never really had the greatest results. So my question to you DC is what method you would recommend. My options include; stovetop, oven or a george forman. Any tips or advice would be greatly appreciated so I can get back to enjoying a nice cut of meat without spending 20-50 dollars at the local steakhouses.

Thanks!

Old 02-18-2012, 03:10 PM   #2
Master Chef

Site Administrator

I would use a cast iron grill pan or griddle.

Old 02-18-2012, 03:13 PM   #3
Certified Pretend Chef

The best method is on the stove top. The GF grill doesn't get hot enough to cook a good steak properly.

However, cooking steak on the stovetop over high heat will generate some smoke so you really need very good ventilation. A stove hood that recirculates air back into the kitchen won't cut it.
Old 02-18-2012, 03:23 PM   #4
Chef Extraordinaire

if you have a gas oven with a broiler, use that.

depending on the thickness of the steaks, you'll have to adjust the broiler tray to the topmost slt for thinner steaks, or the middle slot for thicker steaks. also, adjust cooking times accordingly. a 1 1/2 inch thick steak will take about 6 or 7 minutes per side for rare in the middle slot of a broiler. add another minute or so per side for medium rare. move to the top slot if you like it more charred on the surface.

be sure to wrap the broiler tray in aluminum foil for easy clean up.