"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > General Cooking Information > Outdoor Cooking Forum

Old 08-20-2011, 08:29 AM   #1
Assistant Cook

Electric smokers

I am new to smoking. 225 seems to be the best temp, but how often do I add wood chips. Also the chips seem pretty big. Are there different chips avaliable?

Old 08-20-2011, 08:45 AM   #2
Master Chef

Hi and welcome to DC! I have no idea about the smoker but someone will come and help shortly as always. Loads of people that know there stuff when it comes to smoking here :)

"I hear voices and they don't like you "
Snip 13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2011, 11:27 AM   #3
Head Chef

Welcome to DC.

Josie
Old 08-20-2011, 11:57 AM   #4
Executive Chef

Quote:
Originally Posted by beets View Post
I am new to smoking. 225 seems to be the best temp, but how often do I add wood chips. Also the chips seem pretty big. Are there different chips available?
All foods do not smoke the same. Some require much less smoking time and some are better with certain types of wood.

If you smoke cheese exactly the same as you smoke a pork shoulder, you'll end up with cheese that tastes like burnt firewood.

If you smoke a fish fillet the same as you smoke a whole chicken, again, you'll end up eating something nasty.

Learning to smoke various foods correctly is an art. With today's Internet information, it should be easy to find "recipes" for smoking almost anything.

You're in the right group for that!

Here's my favorite; I use cherry wood chips for smoking mild flavored white fish meat. I use only a handful of dry chips that burn out in the first 5 minutes. It adds a tiny bit of sweet smoke flavor to the fish without overwhelming the fish itself.

There are as many smoking recipes as there are items to be smoked. Perhaps others will share their personal favorites here in this thread!
Old 08-20-2011, 12:50 PM   #5
Chef Extraordinaire

Site Moderator