"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > General Cooking Information > Outdoor Cooking Forum > BBQ & Smokin' Meats

Old 06-18-2008, 05:48 PM   #1
Assistant Cook

basic bbq help needed

im new to bbq's and im going camping in august with my kids,iv done a few at home but usually cook the food a bit first before i bbq it just to be safe,when i go camping i will not have an oven,soooo my question is what is the best/safest food to store in a cool box(non electrical) and cook on a bbq safely for the kids

Old 06-18-2008, 05:59 PM   #2
Head Chef

are you talking smoking or grilling ?

Old 06-18-2008, 07:37 PM   #3
Hospitality Queen

I'm gonna guess grilling -
one super-easy thing kids like is when you make foil packets and put various things inside, such as cut veggies and small pieces of meat. All it'll need is a bit of seasoning. Seal up the packets and cook till the meat's all done.

You could also get the kids involved with the most simple cookout idea - hotdogs! They're already cooked, so no need to worry.
Old 06-18-2008, 09:04 PM   #4
Master Chef

anything raw will have to be in a cooler with ice. When we go camping we bring along hotdogs, pre-cooked brats, lunch meat, and cheese. We still try and keep some ice in them in a cooler since they still should be kept cool, but that is safer then trying to bring along raw meats with no cooler full of ice.
Old 06-18-2008, 10:22 PM   #5
Head Chef

Yup, pretty much anything will be OK in a cooler. If you freeze what you can first, it will
stay cold MUCH longer. Just take it out to defrost, like at home.

If you have concerns about food being fully cooked, bring along a food thermometer to check internal temps with.
Skinless chicken breasts are good; they cook evenly and quickly. Freeze them in a marinade or BBQ
sauce! Foods that aren't too thick, and are uniform in thickness are easier to cook completely.