basic bbq help needed

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

neilkaye

Assistant Cook
im new to bbq's and im going camping in august with my kids,iv done a few at home but usually cook the food a bit first before i bbq it just to be safe,when i go camping i will not have an oven,soooo my question is what is the best/safest food to store in a cool box(non electrical) and cook on a bbq safely for the kids

I'm gonna guess grilling -
one super-easy thing kids like is when you make foil packets and put various things inside, such as cut veggies and small pieces of meat. All it'll need is a bit of seasoning. Seal up the packets and cook till the meat's all done.

You could also get the kids involved with the most simple cookout idea - hotdogs! They're already cooked, so no need to worry.

anything raw will have to be in a cooler with ice. When we go camping we bring along hotdogs, pre-cooked brats, lunch meat, and cheese. We still try and keep some ice in them in a cooler since they still should be kept cool, but that is safer then trying to bring along raw meats with no cooler full of ice.

Yup, pretty much anything will be OK in a cooler. If you freeze what you can first, it will
stay cold MUCH longer. Just take it out to defrost, like at home.

If you have concerns about food being fully cooked, bring along a food thermometer to check internal temps with.
Skinless chicken breasts are good; they cook evenly and quickly. Freeze them in a marinade or BBQ
sauce! Foods that aren't too thick, and are uniform in thickness are easier to cook completely.

Of course, you could partially pre-cook many things, then finish them off over the fire....

I take pork roasts, chicken, steaks, hamburger etc camping all the time. Just use a good cooler. Freeze the stuff used later. My cooler is so cold I often have to put what I want that evening near the top of the cooler so it will thaw.