"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > General Cooking Information > Outdoor Cooking Forum > BBQ & Smokin' Meats

Old 12-23-2007, 08:33 PM   #1
Assistant Cook

Pig roast question

Alright, gang...
I'm a complete newbie here. I'm thinking about buying a small pig to roast, but (now, please be kind... remember I'm new here) I wonder if it is possible to do a good job on a gas grill.
(oh, no.... do I hear laughing?)
I want to buy a 30 pounder, give or take a few pounds. I have a good sized, four burner grill with a rotisserie.
Am I a'dreamin'?

Old 12-23-2007, 10:17 PM   #2
Assistant Cook

A great way to cook a pig.

Try a "la caja china" they are at lacajachina.com. I have one and have done over 20 pigs, lamb and lots of chickens. They are not that expensive. It you use a wired thermomter and it will be done perfectly. I did a whole lamb in 1 hour and it was overcooked. it is great for small pigs.
Go look at a 30 lb pig it is probably bigger that your grill. Let me know if you need ideas

Old 12-23-2007, 10:40 PM   #3
Assistant Cook

looks good, but.....

la caja china looks very cool, BUT.... I'm trying to get rid of STUFF, not accumulate more. I guess part of my dilemma is that I really have no idea what a 30 pound pig will look like. How long, how wide, how much does it weigh. OH, WAIT A MINUTE, I guess I DO know how much it will weigh. (See, and you thought I was just a dumb blonde or something, huh?) I've done a little internet surfing and can't quite come up with dimensions for a 30 pound pig. Not exactly your typical google search, you know.
Thanks
Old 12-24-2007, 01:26 AM   #4
Head Chef

Blacktie your statement about trying to get rid of stuff, not accumulate, resounded here.

I still have an aquisitive urge though and the china caja is going to take some serious resistance.

But I am made of sturdy stuff - I hope.

Wait a minute, I was going to say something - gotta have a point here.