Simple question (I hope!)

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

starnz

Assistant Cook
Hello,

I am new to this forum as I just got my first smoker (chargriller smokin' pro) for Father Day. I love to grill and have been since I was about 15, only I'm now starting to get more into it.

My question pertains to this weekend, 4th of July. I plan on grilling for 4 days straight and one of those days I want to try my smoker attachment for the first time. I have been checking out the posts on here about smoking ribs and it seems that it will take several hours (5-7?) start to finish. That brings me to my question.... In order to supply constant heat for that long, what is the best way to do it using charcoal and wood?

I've never tried smoking before but it seems that when I've used charcoal for direct cooking in the past, the coals only last 2.5 - 3 hours. I also understand you can use lump charcoal (I've never used it) but I didn't know it could last that long. Is there some special technique that I just don't know about? Do I just add more in the middle of cooking?

It seems to be a fairly simple question but I have no idea what to do....

Thanks in advance, and great forum!

Yes, it is just a matter of adding more when you notice the temp going down. I find I get about 3 hours out of "one batch". You want to use a combination of hardwood briquettes and lump charcoal. Whatever wood you use just use it in the beginning as too much wood isn't so tasty! And "one batch" for me is two chimney's worth of a combo of briquettes and lump charcoal.

It's just a matter of doing it the first time. You'll be able to tell your ribs are done when the meat has pulled away from the ends of the bones maybe about an inch or so. 4 hours give or take.

My biggest suggestion is "just do it". It's easier than you think. :chef: