Smoking a Beef Tenderloin

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Sigma Man

Assistant Cook
Tomorrow I will be smoking a beef tenderloin and would like some suggestions. I know that beef tenderloins are much more lean that the pork tenderloins that I have smoked in the past. I plan to marinade overnight and inject with a liquid today. I have a GOSM which has a water pan to help with keeping the meat from drying out.

Any other suggestions? They would be much appreciated.

Sigma Man

I'm not a smoking expert but a tenderloin is the last cut I would think of smoking. IMO, it's too lean for a low and slow cooking method.

Good luck and let us know how it turns out.

FYI- I have smoked beef tenderloins frequently and all I can tell you is that it was among the top one or two tastiest things I have ever prepared.

You do not need the injections nor the marinade. I just coated with thin rub of vegetable oil, then heavy coating of fresh course ground pepper.

Give it plenty of smoke and cook it low and slow. Always us a probe thermometer like a Poulder and do not over cook it.

Low and slow is the way to go... but it will not take very long so watch it close.

Last time I did one, I had guests from the north of Scotland. Uncle Bob said it was the best thing he had ever eaten. Thats saying a lot for a meat eater from the UK.

Smoked Tenderloin is a WONDERFUL meal. I made a smoked and seared tenderloin based on a recipe from the Virtual Weber Bullet site, it was fantastic.

I smoked it in a heavy smoke for an hour (at about 275-300), then seared it on the grill to finish it. The grill was HOT (about 650F hot!), and it was on there just long enough to sear up the outside. The only seasonings were a little oil to coat, salt, and fresh ground pepper.

We served it with a beef stock and garlic sauce and a sour cream/horseradish sauce. Good stuff!

John