Cedar Grillling Plank cooking

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.
Is anyone at least impressed the way my link looks? I've never done that before !

There is a tidal wave of PMs rushing throughout Discuss Cooking. All the members are raving about how unbelievably fantastic your link is.

Spending $21 for a piece of wood seems extreme.

I got 5 planks for 9 bucks last year.....

It (the plank) has to be soaked for several hours prior to use. It does take a slightly longer time to cook the fish.

I use cedar planks for salmon and applewood planks for trout. The planks are soaked in water or applejuice for about an hour so that they actually smoke when placed on the grill. They will burn around the edges. The cover is down on the grill so the fish actually cooks by the surrounding heat. It could take just a little longer to cook than putting the fish directly on the grill but the results are spectacular. The smoke from the plank flavors the fish and it is great!!

If you buy raw cedar from Home Depot or a lumber company, be sure you buy UNTREATED planks as the pesticide used for treated lumber is toxic. I pay 7 something for 3 planks at BarBQue Galore or any other retail grill store. at the end of the season sale.

Drama, how much time should we plan on? Fish cooks quicker than, say, a steak, anyway, right?

Andy, are you being sarcastic? That's not really fair. As I said, posting such links is brand new to me.

I wasn't impressed with cedar plank salmon. Have to give it a second
try sometime, but the first was just... there.

Those "reusable" cedar planks that don't burn seem odd to me. I'd probably not want to reuse one that I had cooked fish on. Plus I like the smoky flavor the charring gives the fish.

They sell cedar planks in my supermarket for pretty cheap.