Apple Pie Help...

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

amcardon

Cook
Okay, I am pretty new at making pies (always hated making my own crusts till somebody told me to try it in a food processor, brilliant!) and I have some really good recipes and my favorite is just a simple apple-cinnamon pie with a lattice crust. So, I always follow the recipe and pile on the apples, make the lattice crust, cook it as instructed and the crust looks great, and the apples fall like 3" below the crust... So, I have this roof of crust and the apples are way below it! Can you keep the apples from falling? Can you do something so the crust stays with the filling? It's really annoying to have a great looking pie that has a crust that floats 3 inches above the filling...

Are you using the right amount or the right kind of apples? Some apples are much better than others for pie - they stay together and don't fall apart. I've noticed on some shows they use what seems like an inordinate amount of apples, piling it very high, but the pie looks delicious when finished. Perhaps, use a firmer apple, or add more apples to your recipe. Just mho.

Remember, apples get smaller and softer when they cook!

I always use Granny Smith apples in my pies, however, my favorite apple pie to make is apple cream pie, which doesn't have a top crust.

I've seen some pie recipes calling for cooking the apple mixture before putting it into the crust for final baking. If you tried that, the pre-cooking would shrink the apples so when you put the lattice crust on top it wouldn't shrink away from the lattice.