"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > Recipes & Ingredients > Desserts, Sweets & Cookies & Candy > Pies & Pastries

Old 09-24-2011, 08:39 PM   #1
Cook

ISO advice making pumpkin pies using fresh pumpkin

I planted some Sugar Pumpkins for making pies and I've never done ths before. I've always planted Pumpkins for carving Jack O Lanterns.

How do you know when they are ripe enough to make pies out of them?

I'm pretty new at baking and cooking. My Mom and grandma use to do all of it. Since they are both gone I just started developing an interest in it.

This is the recipie I am planning on using.

How to Make Homemade Pumpkin Pie - from a Real Pumpkin, Not a Can! - Easily! With Step-by-step Directions, Photos, Ingredients, Recipe and Costs

THANKS!

Old 09-24-2011, 10:11 PM   #2
Executive Chef

Great site. It even gives you all the ways to cook the pumpkin. I like baking them best. I had a friend who boiled hers, but I think it made the pumpkin flesh have less flavor than baking.

Old 09-25-2011, 12:27 AM   #3
Cook

Yeah they basically tell you everything. I call it my Recipies for dummies website. I love it.

My big question is how do you know when they are ripe enough to make pies with?

When they turn 100% Orange? Most of mine have been orange for close to 2 weeks and the plants are already mostly dead.
Old 09-25-2011, 12:35 AM   #4
Chef Extraordinaire

Quote:
Originally Posted by MNTaxi
When they turn 100% Orange? Most of mine have been orange for close to 2 weeks and the plants are already mostly dead.
If the vines are dead/dieing.....I would think they are ready.

Enjoy!

Kool-Aid...Think Before You Drink
Uncle Bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2011, 01:20 AM   #5
Cook

You'd thing so. I just want to make sure I don't have to let them set for a week or so before using them.
Old 09-25-2011, 07:41 AM   #6
Chef Extraordinaire