Pumpkin Pie Help Needed!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

tmh425

Assistant Cook
I am a newbie baker, determined to learn! I've only baked a few pies so far... several apple with perfect crusts (yeah!) and then the dreaded 1st attempt at pumpkin. Boo.:( It's crust was totally unbaked and gooey. I baked it at 425 for 10 minutes then turned down to 325 for @ 45 minutes. Recipe said to take out when filling firmed up, so I did. Filling seemed about perfect consistency, though it cracked on top when it cooled. What did I do wrong? How to fix? Any help would be so appreciated! I don't want to give up since I live to cook. It's just the baking that does me in.

What kind of pie plate did you use? I find a glass pie plate does better than metal in cooking/browning a pie crust.

The recipe I use calls for 450 F for 15 minutes then another 50 minutes at 350F.

My recipe calls for the same temps and cooking times as Andy. I usually use disposable pie tins to make mine and always bake on the middle rack in the oven.

I didn't use a metal one. I think it's ceramic maybe? It's the same one I baked the apple pies in with no problems. I will have to try different times/temps. Thanks for giving me somewhere to start.

Just a thought on the cracking... I think that happens when the pie is cooled too quickly. It can be a problem with pumpkin pies and cheesecakes. Some recipes even say to let them cool in the oven, as it's cooling down.

I can say that if the pie cracked that the filling was likely cooked too long. It should just jiggle like jello, but not slosh around when shaken gently. If it has firmed up a lot, it is overcooked and will crack, this goes for pumpkin pies, as well as other custards like cheesecake. The ideal internal temperature should be 150-160 for a perfect smooth texture (check with an instant read thermometer, if you don't mind a small hole in the pie).