"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > Recipes & Ingredients > Desserts, Sweets & Cookies & Candy > Pies & Pastries

Old 11-11-2010, 02:12 PM   #1
Assistant Cook

Pumpkin Pie Help Needed!

I am a newbie baker, determined to learn! I've only baked a few pies so far... several apple with perfect crusts (yeah!) and then the dreaded 1st attempt at pumpkin. Boo. It's crust was totally unbaked and gooey. I baked it at 425 for 10 minutes then turned down to 325 for @ 45 minutes. Recipe said to take out when filling firmed up, so I did. Filling seemed about perfect consistency, though it cracked on top when it cooled. What did I do wrong? How to fix? Any help would be so appreciated! I don't want to give up since I live to cook. It's just the baking that does me in.

Old 11-11-2010, 02:22 PM   #2
Certified Pretend Chef

What kind of pie plate did you use? I find a glass pie plate does better than metal in cooking/browning a pie crust.

The recipe I use calls for 450 F for 15 minutes then another 50 minutes at 350F.

Old 11-11-2010, 02:33 PM   #3
Senior Cook

My recipe calls for the same temps and cooking times as Andy. I usually use disposable pie tins to make mine and always bake on the middle rack in the oven.
Old 11-11-2010, 02:34 PM   #4
Assistant Cook

I didn't use a metal one. I think it's ceramic maybe? It's the same one I baked the apple pies in with no problems. I will have to try different times/temps. Thanks for giving me somewhere to start.
Old 11-11-2010, 02:39 PM   #5
Senior Cook

Just a thought on the cracking... I think that happens when the pie is cooled too quickly. It can be a problem with pumpkin pies and cheesecakes. Some recipes even say to let them cool in the oven, as it's cooling down.
Old 11-11-2010, 04:57 PM   #6
Executive Chef

Site Moderator