A good stiff icing

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

tschaff04

Assistant Cook
Ok, so I have been playing around with different cupcake flavors and icings. I am ashamed to admit that this is my first time making my own icing. I had always bought store bought. :ohmy: But NEVER again! I made my first butter cream icing last night and YUM! Flavor wise it turned out perfect. However, even though I followed the directions to the T, I am having issues with the stiffness of the butter cream. It starts out nice and firm but when I put it on my cupcakes it just falls right down(the cupcakes are completely cooled). I even tried putting it in the fridge overnight and it was good and firm but again I put it on the cupcake and OOZE. It didn't hold up at all. It just slowly runs down.

I used a zip lock bag and snipped the end to pipe it on. Hey, I am an amateur. :LOL:

This is the look I am going for...(the green icing cupcake)

Cupcake+icing+kit.jpg

But the icing just won't stay firm and up like that. It just slowly falls down around the cupcake and on to the paper.

Please help! If you could suggest a nice firm icing recipe and any techniques for helping the icing keep it's shape like in the picture I would greatly appreciate it.

Thank you. :chef:

There are other people here who will know more about this than me. However, if you post your recipe, it will help us figure it out.

Sounds to me like not enough confectioner's sugar.

Welcome tschaff!

I have been decorating cakes for many years now and this is the buttercream recipe I use:

1/2 cup softened butter (not in the microwave and not margerine)
1/2 cup shortening
1 tsp vanilla
4 cups icing sugar
2 tbsp milk