"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > Recipes & Ingredients > Desserts, Sweets & Cookies & Candy > Cakes & Cupcakes

Old 01-17-2007, 08:51 PM   #1
Assistant Cook

AP vs SR flour for pound cake questions

i have a question as i am new to baking and i was thinking of trying out a new recipe. the pound cake needs 3 cup of all purpose flour and 1 tsp baking powder and 1/4 tsp salt. however, i accidently bought self-rasing flour rather than all- purpose flour. so i was wondering is it the same if i use 3 cup of self-rasing flour instead?

Old 01-17-2007, 09:13 PM   #2
Sous Chef

No, no no. You really need to go get some ordinary flour. There is a conversion, but for a pound cake it won't really work out well at all.

Old 01-17-2007, 09:15 PM   #3
Assistant Cook

but since i need 2 3/4 cup sugar, cant i just increase it to 3 cup sugar? or do i still have to get the all purpose flour?
Old 01-17-2007, 09:31 PM   #4
Senior Cook

each cup would have 1 and 1/2 tsp. of baking powder and 1/2 tsp. of salt, so that's way too much for your recipe. That kind of flour is for biscuits.
Old 01-17-2007, 09:32 PM   #5
Senior Cook

you can go ahead and use the self-rising flour.

self-rising flour already has baking powder and salt in it. at least i think it has salt in it. it should say on the package. there's no real need to adjust any of the ingredients. just omit the baking powder (and salt?). the sugar, butter, eggs, etc. remain the same as called for in your recipe. if you want to be perfectly accurate, you could add an additional 1 1/4 teaspoons of the flour, but such a small amount one way or another won't make a noticable difference.

Old 01-18-2007, 02:32 AM   #6
Executive Chef