AP vs SR flour for pound cake questions

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

eleos

Assistant Cook
i have a question as i am new to baking and i was thinking of trying out a new recipe. the pound cake needs 3 cup of all purpose flour and 1 tsp baking powder and 1/4 tsp salt. however, i accidently bought self-rasing flour rather than all- purpose flour. so i was wondering is it the same if i use 3 cup of self-rasing flour instead?

No, no no. You really need to go get some ordinary flour. There is a conversion, but for a pound cake it won't really work out well at all.

but since i need 2 3/4 cup sugar, cant i just increase it to 3 cup sugar? or do i still have to get the all purpose flour?

each cup would have 1 and 1/2 tsp. of baking powder and 1/2 tsp. of salt, so that's way too much for your recipe. That kind of flour is for biscuits.

you can go ahead and use the self-rising flour.

self-rising flour already has baking powder and salt in it. at least i think it has salt in it. it should say on the package. there's no real need to adjust any of the ingredients. just omit the baking powder (and salt?). the sugar, butter, eggs, etc. remain the same as called for in your recipe. if you want to be perfectly accurate, you could add an additional 1 1/4 teaspoons of the flour, but such a small amount one way or another won't make a noticable difference.

icon12.gif

eleos, this is what will happen if you go ahead and use your self-raising flour for the pound cake rather than plain flour. Your 3 cups of SR flour will contain anywhere from 4-1/2 to 6 teaspoons of baking powder. This is obviously significantly more than the 1 teaspoon you have in the recipe. Such an increase in the amount of baking powder will cause more rising than necessary and will not give you the final texture that you will get otherwise.