HELP!!...Crunchy Cake Edges!!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Trycar

Assistant Cook
I am new to the baking world. My mother got me an old-school cookbook for my B-Day that I thought was no longer in print because I could never find the darn thing whenever I went to various book stores.......but somehow my mom found it. Well, anyway... I have been trying cakes from my book and this is what's happening......

The first cake I tried was a banana cake - it turned out great...I used wax paper to line the pans as the recipe book instructed. Smoke filled my entire house.....was not pleasant.

The second cake was a spice cake ...I opted not to use the wax paper.. SO I coated the the bunt pan with Pam Baking Spray. The oven temp - which is electric - was 350 degress - per the recipe book.
I kept a watchful eye on it and stuck a fork in it to test the center - pulled the cake out just at the time indicated and my edges were DRY - I could peel it if I wanted too.

Needless to say.... I was not happy....my fiance' didn't mind - he actually liked it - I did not.

I read a few things on line to try to figure what could be causing it; I saw that the electric oven temp may run hotter than indicated so I should reduce my degrees by about 25 (325 degrees).

Well.......

I attempted a red velvet cake recipe, used Pam to coat the pan... watched my cakes like a hawk - poked the center more than I propably should have.The oven was set at 325 degrees.
Popped the cakes out and....... CRUNCHY EDGES.....

So I ask.... what am I doing wrong?
How can I correct this for soft egdes?
Lower the oven temp another 25 degrees?
Or do I have to keep using this funky wax paper?

I appreciate all advice. :eek:)

Sounds to me like your oven is too hot.