Help with Cupcakes

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Dengirl

Assistant Cook
I Am new at baking. I have started this past year and I have gotten pretty good for the most part and I have learned tips along the way. but I still have a tough time getting a cake or cupcakes to come out moist not dry or over coked :( I know not over baking is obvious but I think my over is not right because to cook at the norm 350 they seem to cook too fast and not all done in middle. So I have been cooking more slow at 325 and put a pan of water in with them that seems to be working but does take. Long time to bake. My real reason for this post is what is better. Recipes with milk water or butter milk? Anyone have a good chocolate moist recipe to share. This Friday is my daughters 14 birthday and she's having a bunch of kids over and I'm baking a few dozen haah and any easy candy recipes? Thanks

Here's a delicious, very easy, moist, chocolatey cake from Hershey - I've made it many times. You can make it in a 9x13 pan or two 9-inch rounds. If using the rounds, I suggest using parchment paper for an easier release. You can also make them as cupcakes, as some of the reviewers did. I decrease the sugar to suit my taste, since I like things bittersweet:
Black Magic Cake…
It's also posted here with ratings and reviews:
http://allrecipes.com/recipe/black-magic-cake/

To answer your question about milk, water or buttermilk - buttermilk and plain yogurt generally yield the most tender results, due to the acids reacting with the baking soda.

Last edited:
merstar said: