Homemade frosting/icing...why so hard??

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

MyNyssa

Assistant Cook
I was about to paint some cupcakes on this box I have and they looked really good, so I decided that I wanted to make some cupcakes! I am very new to the cooking lifestyle, since I have not owned an oven most of my adult life:wacko:
I have never baked cupcakes before. I made sure I had all of the ingredients for both the cakes and the frosting or icing...not sure which it's called? I did. ;) So I made the cupcakes first, so they could cool. Easy, done in 20 minutes. I made a recipe for frosting from an online recipe. I had to get a "substitute" recipe since I had no confectioner/powdered sugar. The first recipe I made didn't work, I couldn't get the milk and flour to form a paste, I figured the recipe had to be wrong. I dumped the ingredients. I moved onto another one, didn't work, it was like soup, dumped ingredients. I made another one, it was a little better but still soupy and I figured maybe it needed to cool, so I put it in the fridge, waited an hour and...still soupy, I'm holding out hope that it will get thicker through the night so I have not dumped it yet. I'm wondering what I'm missing here? I hate to just wimp out and go buy frosting but now I have 15 frostless cupcakes and a sad hubby and child!! Thank you in advance for any help or suggestions.

Can you post the recipe you used? Its easier for us to troubleshoot if we can see the recipe. Welcome!

Oh, so sorry...here it is
(This is the 3rd recipe...the one in the fridge)
2 tblsp. flour
3/4 cup milk
3/4 cups butter
3/4 cup sugar
1/8 tsp salt
1 tsp vanilla

In saucepan, add a small amount of milk to flour then stir to make a smooth paste. Add remaining milk. Cook, stirring constantly over medium heat until mixture boils and thickens. Cool.