"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > Recipes & Ingredients > Desserts, Sweets & Cookies & Candy > Cakes & Cupcakes

Old 11-30-2010, 03:24 PM   #1
Certified Cake Maniac

It's a Piece of Cake!

Literally! And many of them!

Okay, I have a fun one (I hope). Most of you know I am a cake decorator by trade. One of the things I constantly run into with carved cake is I end up with tons of scraps. I have to be careful around sugar and chocolate, DH is gluten and lactose intolerant and Dad is a diabetic. I usually end up throwing out the scraps, but I was wondering if we could come up with some ideas for using them.

I am talking about large but very thin pieces and small scraps about 2 x 3 x 1.

Now, I know about trifles and dirt cake, etc. But does anyone have any unique ways I can use this cake and give it away? Let's have fun with this one, if I end up throwing it out (minus the two trifles I will make over the holidays), that is cool, but I thought I would ask.

http://beinglydia.com
LPBeier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2010, 04:14 PM   #2
Certified Pretend Chef

When SO trims a cake, I help by eating the scraps as she trims them off. We believe in cleaning up as you go.

Sorry I can't be of any real help.

Old 11-30-2010, 04:25 PM   #3
Certified Cake Maniac

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andy M. View Post
When SO trims a cake, I help by eating the scraps as she trims them off. We believe in cleaning up as you go.

Sorry I can't be of any real help.
Believe me, the two men in my life would love to take on the job of cleaning up; however, as it would make them both sick, I throw trimmings into freezer bags and drop them in my work freezer (they don't go in there) asap.

So, maybe I can just send these bags to you then? Just because you seem sorry that you can't help.

http://beinglydia.com
LPBeier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2010, 04:33 PM   #4
Certified Pretend Chef