It's a Piece of Cake!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

LPBeier

Certified Cake Maniac
Moderator Emeritus
Literally! And many of them!

Okay, I have a fun one (I hope). Most of you know I am a cake decorator by trade. One of the things I constantly run into with carved cake is I end up with tons of scraps. I have to be careful around sugar and chocolate, DH is gluten and lactose intolerant and Dad is a diabetic. I usually end up throwing out the scraps, but I was wondering if we could come up with some ideas for using them.

I am talking about large but very thin pieces and small scraps about 2 x 3 x 1.

Now, I know about trifles and dirt cake, etc. But does anyone have any unique ways I can use this cake and give it away? Let's have fun with this one, if I end up throwing it out (minus the two trifles I will make over the holidays), that is cool, but I thought I would ask. :chef:

When SO trims a cake, I help by eating the scraps as she trims them off. We believe in cleaning up as you go. :angel:

Sorry I can't be of any real help.

When SO trims a cake, I help by eating the scraps as she trims them off. We believe in cleaning up as you go. :angel:

Sorry I can't be of any real help.

Believe me, the two men in my life would love to take on the job of cleaning up; however, as it would make them both sick, I throw trimmings into freezer bags and drop them in my work freezer (they don't go in there) asap.

So, maybe I can just send these bags to you then? :LOL: Just because you seem sorry that you can't help.

Toss in some of your leftover frosting too. I'll find an environmentally friendly way to dispose of them.

Go to the Post Office...get a big box....fill it up with your scraps....mail it to Uncle Bob...I have many braves, with many arrows to feed!! :LOL: