Pricing for fondant decorated cake?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

joanq

Assistant Cook
Hi! I'm a totally amateur cake maker, I just do it for my kid's birthday parties, and now all my friends are asking me to make them cakes too. I like decorating with marshmallow fondant...

So my question is that I was going to donate a custom made cake for my son's school auction, and I'm supposed to estimate a retail value and I have NO clue.

SO the cake offered will be either a 14" round or 14x10" rectangular double layer cake, decorated with fondant in their choice of character etc. This should serve 60+ people according to the servings website.

1. What would you put as an estimated retail value?
2. What would you put as the starting bid?

Any other thoughts/suggestions? Thanks!

I'm sorry that I can't help with the pricing but feeding 60 people with a 14x10 inch double layer cake sounds a hair ambitious to me. I would think that 50 would be closer to the truth. Just my opinion.

Thanks Joe! I was going by the servings suggested on the Wilton site for that size cake, I was actually going to advertise it as 50 ish people because in my experience we do a good job on it at my kid's birthday parties which usually have about 30 people.

I have no idea what prices would be, but if I were you, I'd go online to cake shops around your area and see what comparable product would be priced at. Then estimate accordingly :)

well the 14x10 is just a hair bigger than a 1/4 sheet cake and that serves 15-18 as a single layer. If you are thinking wedding cake sized servings (small slivers) that 50-60 would probably be appropriate.