"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > Recipes & Ingredients > Desserts, Sweets & Cookies & Candy > Cakes & Cupcakes

Old 05-06-2011, 10:47 AM   #1
Cook

The Baker vs The Cook.

I have always thought this to be true, but was wondering if you bakers here were distinctly more proficient (even confident) at desserts (baking) than you are at general cooking?

Myself, I have never been a good baker, and as such have usually tended towards mixes and pre-made stuff. Even for dinner parties, I am much more inclined to BUY the dessert, even if I have made an exquisite meal.

Another example: My former mother-in-law couldn't make a simple pasta dish to save her life, but cookies and cakes were to die for from her kitchen.

I don't know. Is it the precise measuring thing perhaps?

Thoughts?

Old 05-06-2011, 10:53 AM   #2
Executive Chef

I think it's where your particular passion lays. I'm a semi-confident general cook, but my passion is in baking. I look for reasons to bake and read bakery recipes like a good novel.

Baking is also a challenge for me. I enjoy learning and doing things that are complex and challenging. It gives me a sense of true accomplishment.

And in the case of baking, practice certainly helps!

Old 05-06-2011, 10:56 AM   #3
Ogress Supreme

Site Administrator

I can do both and do very well, but my passion is cooking. I just enjoy baking.
Old 05-06-2011, 12:05 PM   #4
Master Chef

i plain dislike baking- too mathmatical, too few allowances for creativity. i'll stick w/ cooking!~
Old 05-06-2011, 12:09 PM   #5
Certified Cake Maniac