"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > Recipes & Ingredients > Desserts, Sweets & Cookies & Candy > Cakes & Cupcakes
Old 09-20-2014, 03:55 PM   #1
Assistant Cook
The disaster cake

today I tried to do the chocolate tart but...
this cake is invented by Ernst Knam , one of most pastry chef of Milano (Italia) but is very difficult because over the outside coated by shortcrust pastry , inside the is a cream of mix of custard and ganache . so when I ended the cake, I removing the cake from the oven and I have a brilliant idea to turn the cake too early when the cake is yet very hot . the inside of cake is output on the table and I hat to throw it.
even happened to you a disaster as my?

benedotta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2014, 03:59 PM   #2
Chef Extraordinaire
Site Moderator
the disaster cake

Oh no! After all that work!

I'm a better cook than I am a baker. Although I don't know that I would have thrown it away, would have eaten that misbehaving cake!

She who dies with the most toys, wins.
Dawgluver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2014, 04:02 PM   #3
Ogress Supreme
Site Administrator
I would be eating the remnants while thinking about how to make it better next time.

I have turned out a cake before it was fully cooled, all you can do is learn from the experience.
PrincessFiona60 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2014, 04:49 PM   #4
Chef Extraordinaire
Site Moderator
Location: I live in the Heartland of the United States - Western Kentucky
Don't think I would've thrown it out either. Might have been good over ice cream.

Turning it out too early most likely didn't allow the soft inside to set up, which is why you had a bit of a gooey mess.

Even with disasters, we can still enjoy our failures. Get me a spoon......
"As a girl I had zero interest in the stove." - Julia Child
This is real inspiration. Look what Julia became!
Katie H is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2014, 04:15 AM   #5