The disaster cake

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

benedotta

Assistant Cook
today I tried to do the chocolate tart but...
this cake is invented by Ernst Knam , one of most pastry chef of Milano (Italia) but is very difficult because over the outside coated by shortcrust pastry , inside the is a cream of mix of custard and ganache . so when I ended the cake, I removing the cake from the oven and I have a brilliant idea to turn the cake too early when the cake is yet very hot . the inside of cake is output on the table and I hat to throw it. :mad:
even happened to you a disaster as my?:LOL:

the disaster cake

Oh no! After all that work! :(

I'm a better cook than I am a baker. Although I don't know that I would have thrown it away, would have eaten that misbehaving cake!

Last edited:
I would be eating the remnants while thinking about how to make it better next time.

I have turned out a cake before it was fully cooled, all you can do is learn from the experience.

Don't think I would've thrown it out either. Might have been good over ice cream.

Turning it out too early most likely didn't allow the soft inside to set up, which is why you had a bit of a gooey mess.

Even with disasters, we can still enjoy our failures. Get me a spoon......:LOL:

oh yes on the ice cream , that is a fantastic idea!! : ) I ate in the evening all that was recoverable. in fact I am eating this mornig the shortcrust pastry in the milk , it is very delicious!!
thank you for the beautiful advices :)