Mailing baked goods in the mail

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.
I would like to mail some baked goods to my mother and a friend
for Christmas gifts. What type of cookies and quick breads would you recommend mailing that keep well? What's the best way to package them so they're not damaged (no broken pieces of cookie, no messed up quick bread, etc.).

Also where I'll be mailing them to neither places are hot. My mother lives
in Michigan and my friend lives in Kentucky. I live in southern Florida, and although it's normally warm here, it's cooled off considerably due to the onset of winter.

For quick breads my only concern is that I'm afraid with the moistness of them, they'll become moldy and the people who ingest them could become ill very easily. Is there anyway to package them to prevent this, or would you not recommend sending quick breads in the mail? I'm not very good with making yeast breads yet, so trying to avoid them like the plague.

Also one last thing. How can I keep cookies soft? I've heard you can throw a slice of bread in with the cookies, and that they'll retain their softness longer this way, but I'm reluctant to do this. The reason being is because the baked goods I'm mailing will take days to reach their destinations. Just afraid the bread will become moldy in that time period.

Sorry about all the questions, but this will be my first time mailing baked goods in the mail. Could really use help regarding this.

Priorty Mail should get them there quicker but even snail mail would prob still get them there no more than 3 days! So you shouldn't have any problems with them going bad at all....