What's Wrong With My Cookies?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

ChadHahn

Cook
This is the third batch of chocolate chip cookies I have made in as many day and they have all looked the same. I have been cooking for almost 40 years and this is the first time I can remembering this happening.

The first two times I thought the butter/dough was to warm but the cookies spread even when the dough was refrigerated. I saw that the baking soda was 3 years old so I opened a new box and made the cookies again today. The photo is from this batch with baking soda that is good until the end of the year.

Does anyone have any ideas why my cookies should be like this?

tollhouse.jpg

Thanks,

Chad

Just by looking, I would guess too much butter or not enough flour.

It would help if you posted the recipe you used. Maybe someone can spot the problem.

I agree with SilverSage - we need to see the recipe. Is this a recipe you've used before with success? Have you tested your oven for accuracy with a good oven thermometer?

I can't tell what type of pans you're using, but if they're nonstick dark ones, you need to reduce the oven temperature by 25 degrees.

I'm using the Nestle Toll House recipe.

• 2 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup (2 sticks) butter, softened
  • 3/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 3/4 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 2 large eggs
  • 2 cups (12-oz. pkg.) NESTLÉ® TOLL HOUSE® Semi-Sweet Chocolate Morsels
  • 1 cup chopped nuts
Directions

PREHEAT oven to 375° F.

COMBINE flour, baking soda and salt in small bowl. Beat butter, granulated sugar, brown sugar and vanilla extract in large mixer bowl until creamy. Add eggs, one at a time, beating well after each addition. Gradually beat in flour mixture. Stir in morsels and nuts. Drop by rounded tablespoon onto ungreased baking sheets.