Candy is sharp

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

marashnay2450

Assistant Cook
I have made candy today and it came out awesome. I cannot believe that it was so easy. The only thing is that when I was breaking it lots of it comes out sharp and pointed. I have children and was wondering if there is a trick to make it not so sharp. I know sounds like a silly question but with kids I can see something happening.
Thanks for the help
Lisa

Maybe nibble around the corners for them!!LOL I will volunteer for this!

For the molds, check your local dollar stores or five and dime. you can use just about any molds that will take the heat of the poured candy.

Thank you so much for the quick replies. I love forums. You guys are great.

Are there any molds that are easier than others to use with hard candy. This is my first time today making candy. It is nice to check with the experts!! :) You may save me a lot of trouble.

If you are talking about hard candy.. take a torch and simply melt the points. A quick flash of the flame will dull the edges.

I don't make candy, but I thought I've seen them coat
the inside edge with vegetable shortening, wiped from a papertowel.
Come on, tell us, what kind of candy?

P.S. and Welcome to DC. Glad you could join us.

It is hard candy...........made with orange extract and yellow and red food coloring. It tasted really good. It was so easy to make.

Are chocolate mold different from hard candy molds???

hard cany molds have to withstand much higher temperatures than chocolate molds. So choc. molds may melt if they are a plastic that can't stand the heat.

It is hard candy...........made with orange extract and yellow and red food coloring. It tasted really good. It was so easy to make.

Are chocolate mold different from hard candy molds???

I am just about to try making hard candy with a chocolate mold. I'll let you know how it turns out.