"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > Recipes & Ingredients > Desserts, Sweets & Cookies & Candy > Candies and Chocolates

Old 04-16-2005, 02:05 PM   #1
Assistant Cook

Smile Why is my caramel sauce grainy?

I just made good old caramel sauce from sugar, creme and a bit of butter and vanilla...after a try or two I got the caramelizing down... The color is great and the flavor good--rich and deep. The trouble is that as it cools it isn't that smooth to taste..has a bit of a grainy consistency--how do I fix this--do I need more butter or creme...help...

Old 04-16-2005, 04:08 PM   #2
Everymom

I'm no candy expert, so I hope someone comes round quickly to help you out. It can be a bit quiet here on weekends so be patient. I just wanted to welcome you to the boards. Hope you enjoy it around here.

Old 04-16-2005, 11:46 PM   #3
Master Chef

Plain sugar, or sucrose, crystalizes as it cools. It is a real challenge to avoid this problem. Most recipes I know for caranel add a bit of corn syrup. The corn syrup remains smooth and syrupy and helps keep the sucrose from crystalizing.

Oh, and you must scrape the syrup from the pan sides to prevent them from overcooking and crystallizing as well.

Hope this helps you.

Seeeeeya; Goodweed of the North

Check out my blog for the friendliest cooking instruction on the net. Go ahead. You know you want to.- http://gwnorthsfamilycookin.wordpress.com/
Chief Longwind Of The North is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2005, 04:11 AM   #4
Executive Chef

ALso, not cooking long enough, or cooking at too high a heat can cause the crystallization.
Old 04-17-2005, 05:11 AM   #5
Sous Chef

While making the sugar caramel brush the sides of the pot with a pastry brush dipped in water. I have also heard that a little lemon juice will also help stop crystalisation.
Old 04-17-2005, 03:57 PM   #6
Master Chef

Humm ... several things can cause the problem - as others have noted.