Palatas - Mexican Popsicles - HELP!!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

kbd4st

Assistant Cook
Hello all!!

I am an intermediate cook at best. I have for years, since I moved from Nashville, longed for a Palata - like the kind Las Palatas creates!

I am familiar with the background on these amazing Mexican Popsicles and have scoured the internet for many recipes to attempt to recreate the perfect texture and taste of the oh so amazing Palatas of my memory.

I have not quite mastered it. My flavors fall short and my freezing techinique lacks luster - much to much like a frozen fruit ice cube than an amazing Palata.

If anyone has any suggestions on how to make my flavors pop and my popsicles to properly freeze I would welcome them with open arms!

I am currently using a food processor and freezing straight into popsicle molds.

Some thoughts I have played with and intend to employ are:
Utilizing a different sugar/emulsifier to help with texture (suggestions?)
Working with a food mill or blender instead of the food processor (will this change texture)?
Heating the product and adding the sugar to help with binding?
Working the product through a processor/blender - then through a sieve and adding solids back to mixture in smaller amounts to achieve the natural texture with a stronger flavor?

Please any help on links/suggested readings/direct tips would be greatly appreciated! I live in the Northeast now and these amazing treats are impossible to find!!

Thank you all!

In looking over this article, and recipes, on Mexican Paletas - a couple of things come to mind:

1 - those made with milk will have a creamer texture whereas those without milk will be more fruit-ice like

2 - a food processor is not a blender and it will not give you the same results ... using a blender instead of a food processor may solve some of your emulsification and texture problems.