Beef roast temperature question!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

dwessler

Assistant Cook
Hey, all! I'm excited to have joined this forum; I'm an at-home cook, always looking to expand my recipe repertoire.

Right off the bat, I have a question regarding internal temperature of beef roast. I don't seem to find much agreement amongst my resources regarding what the correct internal temperature should be for different levels of doneness. If I'm making a 3-pound beef bottom round roast, looking for it to be medium rare, what should my final internal temperature be? It seems USDA suggests the final internal temp should be 145F (taking the roast out of the oven at 135, as it will cook for another 10 degrees after removal during rest). But lots of professional chefs seem to suggest a final internal temp of 130-135F (removal from the oven at 120-125). That's a big difference! What would you all suggest for a medium-rare final internal temperature of a beef roast?

I'd definitely go with the lower temps the pros recommend. I go with 120ºF-125ºF for MR.

Be advised you have to be careful where you stick your thermometer probe and then double check in different spots in the roast. Not all parts of a roast will be MR. Thinner parts will be more well done.

I agree with Andy. Err on the side of lower temps. You can't go back from medium to rare, but you can always heat it longer if too red if need be.

I pull my beef roast at internal temp 115-120F.