Best Lean Beef to Cook in a Dutch Oven?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

machx

Assistant Cook
I am pretty new to cooking so I appreciate simple recipes - does anyone have ideas ?

1. Which cuts of beef are best to cook in a dutch oven?

2. Any good recipes for said items?

Appreciate it even if you can give me a general direction, I can wing it :)

Thanks everyone!

Last edited:
I am pretty new to cooking so I appreciate simple recipes - does anyone have ideas ?

1. Which cuts of beef are lean and cook well in a dutch oven?

2. Any good recipes for said items?

Appreciate it even if you can give me a general direction, I can wing it :)

Thanks everyone!

Pot roast/chuck roasts are great for dutch ovens and slow cookers:chef:
Brown (meaning to seare in the juices) first on both sides in the dutch oven, add salt & pepper to meat and set aside. Add potatoes, carrots, onions, garlic to the dutch oven and add one 15oz can of chicken or beef broth. Lay roast on top of the vegetables, top with the lid and let it simmer on medium heat for 2-3 hrs and voila!

Really lean beef doesn't do well in a dutch oven. It dries out and can be tough.

I agree that chuck is one of the best. Brisket, too.

Really lean beef doesn't do well in a dutch oven. It dries out and can be tough.

I agree that chuck is one of the best. Brisket, too.

After I posted I was thinking that.. Actually come to think of it scratch the lean thing, it doesn't have to be that lean, just not tons of fat! I don't mind a bit of fat but not like marble... get my drift? :)

Pot roast/chuck roasts are great for dutch ovens and slow cookers:chef: