Browning meatballs

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Temecula1

Assistant Cook
I'm new at this cooking stuff. Recipe for porcupine meatballs says to brown the meatballs first. I assume this means to turn them or roll them to brown them on all sides, but when using tongs to roll them they break apart and lose their round shape. Does browning them before adding the sauce really mean on all sides or just on the side initially set in the pan?

Use the back of the tongs or a wooden spoon to push/roll them around. Some meatballs have a soft consistency and a slight flat spot is inevitable, but they should not be breaking apart.
Or... brown them in the oven and you won't have to turn them at all.

Hi, and welcome to DC :)

Yes, the recipe means to brown them on all sides. I've never liked doing that, so I bake them instead. I preheat the oven to 400°F, line a sheet pan with foil, place the meatballs on the pan, and bake for about 12-15 minutes. No standing at the stove baby-sitting the meatballs! :mrgreen:

Browning adds tons of flavor.

Your best bet is to brown them in a hot skillet. However, using the oven is fine, especially if the meatballs are delicate. Use a hot oven temp (400ºF to 450ºF) leave lots of space in between the meatballs and put them on a rack in the sheet pan so they will brown as much as possible. Either way, when they're done, drain off the fat, deglaze the pan and add the juices to the sauce.

I use to brown them, but one time was make meatball for a family event and thought oh goodness now I got to brown all these - Nope, I baked them and will never brown again, I think they hold together better in the sauce and they still brown up and still get a lot of flavor from them.

Browning is where all the meaty flavor comes from

Of your meatballs fall apart in the pan, it's likely your recipe is faulty.