"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > Recipes & Ingredients > Beef, Pork, Lamb & Venison > Beef

Old 01-15-2011, 03:19 PM   #1
Head Chef

Crock-pot 9 hours ok?

ok - I'm cooking a 7 bone roast in the crock pot tomorrow. Onion Soup mix packets and homemade cranberry sauce will be in there as well. I usually use the 7 bone steaks when doing this and I'm not too experienced with roasts in the crock pot.

should 9 hours be ok on LOW for the 5 pound "7 bone Roast" I bought?

I would think so, but thought I'd double check in case. I'm serving potatoes and a green bean casserole on the side. Today I made a home made cake called Grooms Peanut Butter Pound cake. It was in the Penzy Spice magazine I got. It's in the oven right now. I'll probably make the icing for it tomorrow. It's a combo chocolate chips/heavy cream mixture. : )

Old 01-15-2011, 03:31 PM   #2
Master Chef

Are you going to be home tomorrow, legend? I like to start my CP on high for a couple of hrs, and then reduce to low. I've made your recipe before, and it's delicious. Just don't remember how long I cooked it.
Ykies, you're going to be able to keep away from that cake till tomorrow to frost it? It would be half gone by tomorrow in this house.

Kayelle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2011, 03:47 PM   #3
Head Chef

Yes, I'll be home. I'm suppose to have dinner ready around 3:30pm, which means I'll have to set my alarm to get everything into the crockpot at 6:30am ish. I have only put my crock pot on high when I am rushed to get something done and forgot to put it all together in enough time to keep it cooking on low.

I also usually use the canned cranberry sauce, but this time I made my own.