Flank Steak

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

ouyangl

Assistant Cook
Where can I find this???

I didnt find it at my local market basket, it seemed like the only thing at market basket is sirloin steak

ouyangl, does your market basket have a butcher? If so, I'm sure if you ask they would provide you with a flank. If not, most butcher stores will have. Can I ask what it is you’re looking to create with it?

Keith

i'm trying to create szechuan beef

i ended up using top round (i think??) steak or w/e

i'm a new cook and it didnt turn out like szechuan beef at all. Not spicy at all

maybe cause i got the recipe off of food network

Most supermarkets should carry it, but they might be out of stock when you check. Ask the person behind the counter. You can also check at price clubs like Sams or BJ's if you have any of those near you.

Hong Kong Flank Steak

I picked up a flank steak at the market a couple of hours ago to make Hong Kong Flank Steak. I haven't tried this recipe before, but I have made other Asian-style flank steaks, and this one looks pretty good to me.

Hong Kong Flank Steak

For the marinade:

1/4 cup soy sauce
1/4 cup dry sherry
1 tablespoon minced fresh ginger
1 tablespoon finely minced garlic
1 tablespoon Asian sesame oil
1 tablespoon peanut oil or other cooking oil
1 tablespoon honey
1 tablespoon rice vinegar
2 teaspoons Asian chili oil
Salt and freshly ground black pepper, to taste

1 flank steak (about 2 pounds)
2 tablespoons chopped fresh cilantro or flat-leaf parsley, for garnish