For those of you cooking Philly Cheeseteaks

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

catinthebox

Assistant Cook
Hello! Newbie here. I've grown up in Philly but never once attempted to make my own cheesesteak. Of course, once I left it became necessary to begin making them on my own! (to show my dorm mates what Philly really tastes like, haha)

So, my question is: For those of you who've cooked a cheesesteak before, what kind of beef do you use? I've heard top round roast beef works well, but I'm suspicious of that. Can anyone help?

Thanks!

You can use almost any beef.... I do think they usually use top round but of course there is endless debate and legend around the cheese steak and what goes into it.

basically you want to use cheap beef and slice it thin and cook it on a griddle... or like you would on a griddle in a frying pan.

If you watch the cart guys they usually lay the steaks flat and fry em then sort of push em together and chop em up with a thick spatula then they push the meat to the side and cook onions in the grease... push them aside and toast the hoagie roll for a minute.... I have watched this a million times but still not sure I could replicate the art.

It is always a matter of mystery to me that you can get a sublime cheesesteak at almost any food cart in town but can't get a passable one outside of Philly.

more importantly do you want it "wit" "wit-whiz" or provolone? sweet or hot peppers?

a real hoagie roll is key

my personal preference is provolone and hot peppers w ketchup orthodox or not.

Don't they use thinly sliced rib roasts at the 2 famous

places in Philly? Pat's and I don't remember the name of the other one.

There was just a special on the FN the other day on the 2 from Phily, Pats and I believe the other is Geno's, I may be wrong but the type of cheese is as important as the type of meat also, the hoagie bun makes it! :chef: