"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > Recipes & Ingredients > Beef, Pork, Lamb & Venison > Beef

Old 12-24-2007, 10:04 AM   #1
Assistant Cook

ISO help cooking beef tenderloin

This is my first time in this forum and actually quite new to cooking. This may sound like a dumb quetion but I'm making beef tenderloin for Christmas and I don't want to screw it up. My big turkey roaster just seems too big for the tenderloin. Can I use a jelly roll pan or do the sides need to be higher? Thanks for any help you can give me with this.

Old 12-24-2007, 10:30 AM   #2
Executive Chef

I wouldn't use a jelly roll pan. Do you either a 13 x 9 Pyrex dish or a pan like this? It doesn't have to be non-stick, just a deep sided pan. I'm afraid with the jelly roll the juices would over flow and you would have a dry tenderloin.

Then again, recipes vary. I know not much help. What I found was one recipe that says a jelly roll pan is okay.

Old 12-24-2007, 10:45 AM   #3
Executive Chef

For a section of whole loin (not individual medalions) coat with evoo S&P. Bring a skillet up to high heat and sear all sides of the loin. Place in a 325 oven until you reach an internal temp of 140-145 (med to med rare). Remove from pan, tent with foil and let rest for 20 minutes. Add beef stock, red wine, cracked pepper and shallots to the skillet and reduce by half.
Old 12-24-2007, 10:48 AM   #4
Executive Chef

You can also add dried herbs to the salt/pepper/evoo mixture.
Old 12-24-2007, 11:10 AM   #5
Executive Chef

Welcome!

Well, I have only cooked a beef tenderloin once! but it was this past Thanksgiving, and it turned out heavenly. So, here's another suggestion for a way to cook it..