Oven Roast Help please.

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

mk3_gurl

Assistant Cook
Hello everyone. First off let me say that I am new to cooking, but love to learn.

I have a bonless sirloin tip oven roast that I had purchased a couple weeks ago and froze. Now I took it out of the freezer Saturday around 3pm, it's now Monday at 3pm, do you think it's finished defrosting on the inside?:ermm:

Also, of course...does anyone have any simple recipies? I would like to add the traditional potatoes and carrots:)

TIA;)

put potatoes and baby carrots in bottom of crockpot. had sliced up onion. put roast on top. sprinkle with packet dry onion soup and let her rip. u can add a small amount of beef stock.

babe:chef::chef:

A sirloin roast is very lean, so I would go low and slow and try to eat it medium rare so it stays tender. Check cooksillustrated.com for a recent recipe.

I found this nice recipe at a blog I visit (elise.com). The red wine is so wonderful with the beef.

* 3 1/2 lb of beef shoulder or boneless chuck roast
* 1 Tbsp olive or grapeseed oil
* Salt, pepper, italian seasoning to taste
* 1 large yellow onion, chopped or sliced
* 4 cloves of garlic, peeled
* 1/2 cup of red wine
* Several carrots, peeled and cut lengthwise

1 Use a thick-bottomed covered pot, such as a dutch oven, just large enough to hold roast and vegetables. Heat 1 Tbsp of oil on medium high heat (hot enough to sear the meat). Sprinkle and rub salt, pepper, and Italian seasoning all over the meat. Brown roast in pot, all over, several minutes on each side. Don't move the roast while a side is browning, or it won't brown well.