"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > Recipes & Ingredients > Beef, Pork, Lamb & Venison > Beef
Old 01-05-2009, 12:54 AM   #1
Assistant Cook
Questions on Preparing Meat

Hi guys,
I'm a total beginning cook so please excuse me if this sounds like a really dumb question. When you get the meat home, I've noticed that sometimes there is a lot of that red liquid protein (I've been told it's not blood). Am I suppose to wash the meat before I cook it? I get concerned it won't be as juicy.

Thanks in advance

marvinq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2009, 12:56 AM   #2
Executive Chef
I usually cook it in with the meat - particularly for a stew type dish. Last night I reserved it and added it to the gravy for some extra flavour.

"For to be free is not merely to cast off one's chains, but to live in a way that respects and enhances the freedom of others." - Nelson Mandela
miniman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2009, 01:03 AM   #3
Master Chef
The only meat I wash is poultry. I am not sure if that is the correct thing to do, but it is true for me LOL.
And I took like the juice to be there when I am either searing it, putting it in the slow cooker, or making a gravy. Like anything else, I just make sure it gets thoroughly cooked up.
Maverick2272 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2009, 08:06 AM   #4
Certified Pretend Chef
No need to wash. Just dry the meat with some paper towels before cooking. Starting with a dry meat surface makes browning much easier.
"If you want to make an apple pie from scratch, you must first create the universe." -Carl Sagan
Andy M. is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2009, 09:14 AM   #5
Head Chef
I'm with Andy. I just take it out of the package and dry it with paper towels. I think that the moistness in cooked meat comes from rendered fat, not the residual liquid in the package.
Bigjim68 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2009, 09:23 AM   #6
Senior Cook