"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > Recipes & Ingredients > Beef, Pork, Lamb & Venison > Beef

Old 02-21-2015, 06:59 PM   #1
Everymom

Reverse Sear

OK, I've never done this before. My understanding is that you cook low temp til you reach the doneness you like, pull out of oven and rest the meat then sear the outside. This allows for your entire piece of beef to be the right doneness rather than grades from well done to rare.

Is that correct? Any particular tips or tricks? And if you use this technique regularly I'd love some input. TIA

Old 02-21-2015, 07:14 PM   #2
Head Chef

Although , most times it's done on a BBQ you can do it in the oven then finish on the stove in a cast iron pan.
The idea is to heat to about 10 degrees less then finished, then in the pan for browness and doneness.
And yes, it does make a good cut of meat more tender.

Old 02-21-2015, 07:14 PM   #3
Executive Chef

For myself, I use a proven combination of time and temperature to cook by, especially steak. Assuming 1" to 1-1/4" I dry pan fry in a smoking hot CI skillet for 3 minutes (do NOT touch before the 3 minutes are through.) Flip using tongs and cook another 3 minutes. Next, for 3 minutes bake in a pre-heated 350 oven, and then remove and let it rest for 3 minutes. You'll then have a perfect medium rare steak with caramel colored crust along the edges. Time can be adjusted based on the thickness, adding one minute for every 1/2".
This formula has always worked for me. Perhaps you like your meat a different doneness. The point I'm trying to make is for you to figure out the formula of time and temperature that works for you, and record it so you can use it again in the future without having to guess.
Old 02-21-2015, 07:21 PM   #4
Head Chef

Quote:
Originally Posted by Selkie View Post