Small Ribeye roast

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

galapogos

Assistant Cook
Hi,

I'm gonna be roasting a 1kg(2.2lb) of boneless beef ribeye tomorrow, and I've never done it before. I usually broil my own steaks, so I do sorta know my way around the kitchen, but this one's a bit different. I tried googling for recipes for ribeye roasts, but they are often 4-6lbs or even larger, so I'm not sure the timing would be correct.

I don't have a cooking thermometer so I will have to go by time and temperature/setting. I have an oven that allows me to change the temperature(obviously), as well as the heating element(top, bottom, both), as well as circulation(I can turn on an internal fan to keep the air moving).

I intend to rub some herbs into the beef surface(black peppers, basil, paprika, garlic, salt-free all purpose seasoning, anything else I can find), maybe some soya sauce and wine, and let it sit in the fridge overnight, and just put it in a pre-heated oven. Problem is I'm not sure what settings, how hot, how long, and whether I should wrap it in a foil? Does anyone have any idea for a 1kg ribeye? I'm thinking of medium-rare to medium, and from the recipes I've seen online it seems like 300-350F for about an hour should be ok?

TIA!

buy a probe thermometer, why don't you have one?? you have an oven right? you have the rest of the tools. why don't you have a probe thermometer. ?

The time tables are only rough guides. you can never really temp a piece of meat with time only. the only true way to tell is with a probe thermometer.

Never had a use for it until now. Been timing my meats and they've always turned out fine as long as I know how large/what type of meat. I've never tried such as big chunk before though, and this will likely be a very infrequent thing so might not be worth getting a probe just to use it once every few years.